Helene W. Koon Memorial Award

WSECS established this award as a tribute to the innovative scholarship, creative teaching, and generous spirit of Helene W. Koon, a scholar of eighteenth-century dramatic literature and professor of English at California State University, San Bernardino.

The WSECS Committee offers an award of $250 for the best paper presented at the annual conference by a graduate student or junior faculty member.  All nontenured delegates are encouraged to submit their papers via e-mail to the conference organizers no later than the Friday following the meeting.  Papers may not be longer than 2500 words plus notes.  The WSECS Committee will notify the winner, acknowledge the award on the society website, and present it at the following year’s conference.     

The 2017 WSECS Committee was pleased to confer multiple awards: 

First Prize: Madelaine Schurch, “The Duchess of Portland, Jean- Jacques Rousseau, and the Eighteenth Century Herbarium”​​
Second Prize: Erik L. Johnson, “Dramatic recognition in the age of empiricism: Congreve, Dennis, Trotter”​
Third Prize:  Katherine Richards, “Fans, Fame, and Illness: The Medical Celebrity of Susannah Cibber”